Equator Gringos

July 26, 2007

Saying Goodbyes

Filed under: Ecuador, expat, South America, teaching overseas — lstollin @ 12:26 am

Today we continued phase 3 of getting ready to move to Quito, Ecuador. It’s the Goodbye-and-come-to-visit-us phase. We should have finished phase 2 (packing and moving out of the house) before we began phase 3, because now there is no time for anything but socializing. I had lunch with one friend, dinner with another, while Joy (as you recall, my lovely wife) had lunch with some stranger I think. I asked, “why did you need to say goodbye to a stranger?” but she ignored me. That was fine, because, as I often discover, it was a rhetorical question.

Top 3 questions and comments from these goodbye events:

  1. So, are you all packed (over a week before leaving)? (A: Yes. In fact, we packed a month ago and have been camping in the back yard since late June.)
  2. Will your email still work in Ecuador?
  3. What is Joy going to be doing? (A: You mean besides keeping me in line? Isn’t that a full time job?)

On a related note, what is the proper etiquette for these goodbyes? What is the correct protocol? It goes without saying that since I’m the one leaving, I get to pick the place. But, the big question for me is this: when they try to pay, do I let them, to allow them express how much they appreciate me and are going to miss me?    Come to think of it, I guess that wasn’t such a tough one.

1 Comment »

  1. Saying good-bye to Austin and Austinites is so hard. I think I cried for 2 months over that one. But you will love the adventure you are embarking on and, as everyone said to me, you can always go back. Enjoy your time in Ecuador!

    Comment by Lynne Meddaugh — August 6, 2007 @ 12:19 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

